Opening Hours : SUN - FRI: 07:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Japanese Language TEST

Japanese Language TEST

Japanese Language TEST

The Japanese Language NAT-TEST is an examination that measures the Japanese language ability of students who are not native Japanese speakers. The tests are separated by difficulty (five levels) and general ability is measured in three categories: Grammar/Vocabulary, Listening and Reading Comprehension. The format of the exam and the types of questions are equivalent to those that appear on the Japanese Language Ability Test (JLPT).

There are five levels of the Japanese Language NAT-TEST. Level 5 is the easiest followed by levels 4, 3, 2, and then level 1, which is the most difficult. The difficulty of each level corresponds to its respective level (from N5 to N1) on the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT).

Levels 1 and 2 have a Language Knowledge section, which includes reading, grammar and vocabulary, a Reading Comprehension section and a Listening section. Levels 3, 4 and 5 have a Language Knowledge section, which includes kanji and vocabulary, a second Language Knowledge section with grammar and reading, and then a Listening section. On the day of the exam, it will take several hours for test takers to complete the test.

No of time of exam held

NAT-TEST Six times per year
JLPT Twice per year

Exam Format


Levels 1 and 2:

1) Language Knowledge (reading, vocabulary, grammar), Reading Comprehension [120 points]

2)Listening Comprehension [60 points]

Levels 3, 4 and 5;

1)Language Knowledge (reading, vocabulary) [60 points]

2)Language Knowledge (grammar) [60 points]

3)Listening Comprehension [60 points]

JLPT Same as above

Number of Vocabulary


Level 5: Approx. 1000 words

Level 4: Approx. 2000 words

Level 3: Approx. 4000 words

Level 2: Approx. 6000 words

Level 1: Approx. 10000 words

* For a detailed list of 10,172 vocabulary words separated by level, please see the "1万語彙集" textbook, published by Senmon Kyouiku Publishing Co., Ltd. 

JLPT Not publicly disclosed by The Japan Foundation

Number of Kanji


Level 5: 102 characters

Level 4: 428 characters

Level 3: 700 characters

Level 2: 1338 characters

Level 1: 1864 characters

* There is a criterion of kanji that appear on each level of the NAT-TEST.

JLPT Not publicly disclosed by The Japan Foundation

Hours of study


Level 5: 200 hours

Level 4: 400 hours

Level 3: 600 hours

Level 2: 800 hours

Level 1: 1000 hours

JLPT Not publicly disclosed by The Japan Foundation
Click to join the scholarship program